Thirty two young Indian artistes was awarded the Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar for 2018

32 young Indian artistes was awarded the Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar for 2018. The awards were announced by the Sangeet Natak Akademi. It was presented to artistes aged below 40 years. The award aims to identify young talent in arts. Yuva Puraskar will be presented by Chairman of Sangeet Natak Akademi at a special ceremony.

The main objective of the Ustad bismillah khan award is to preserve and promote vast cultural heritage of India expressed in music, dance and drama. It also works with governments and art academies in states and territories of India.

List of Awardees:
Music: 8 recipients
Hindustani vocal – Sameehan Kashalkar and Ruchira Kedar
Sitar – Dhruv Bedi
Tabla – Shubh Maharaj
Carnatic vocal – Sandeep Narayan
Flute – J.B. Sruthi Sagar
Violin – R. Sridhar
Bhava Sangeet – M.D. Pallavi
Dance: 8 recipients
Bharatanatyam – Vijna Rani Vasudevan and Rajith Babu
Kathak – Durgesh Gangani
 Kathakali – Kalamandalam Vaisakh
Manipuri – Manju Elangbam
Odissi – Madhulita Mohapatra
Sattriya – Anjali Borbora Borthakur
Contemporary dance – Rakesh Sai Babu for Chhau and Vikram Mohan
Theatre: 7 recipients
Direction: Chavan Pramod R.
Acting: Sunil Palwal, Namrata Sharma, and Preeti Jha Tiwari
Mime: Kuldeep Patgiri
Music for theatre – Subhadeep Guha
Kutiyattam – Kalamandalam Sajith Vijayan
Traditional/Folk/Tribal Music/Dance/Theatre and Puppetry- 8 recipients
For folk and traditional music, the prize winners are:
Bihar – Chandan Tiwari
Manipur – A. Aneshori Devi
West Bengal – Madhushree Haital
Assam – Manoj Kumar Das
Uttar Pradesh – Ashok Kumar

About Ustad Bismillah Khan Award:
The award was instituted in the memory of Ustad Bismillah Khan in 2006. The award identifies and encourages outstanding young talents in diverse fields of performing arts. The award will give the artistes a national recognition early in their life.

Sangeet Natak Akademi:
Sangeet Natak Akademi or the National Academy of Music, Dance and Drama was formed on 31 May 1952. It is headquartered in New Delhi, India. The academy aims to preserve and promote the vast cultural heritage of India that is expressed in music, dance and drama. It functions under the Ministry of Culture.

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *