European Union leaders nominate Germany’s Ursula von der Leyen to lead EU Commission

Defence secretary of Germany, Ursula von der Leyen nominated by the European leaders to lead the European Commission.
The executive arm of the EU (European Union) is fully responsible for legislation and governing.
She is replaced by Jean-Claude Juncker.
She was backed by German Chancellor Angela Merkel.
Her nomination are decided by the leaders of the EU’s 28 member states.

About Ursula von der Leyen
She was born in Brussels in 1958
She is the only minister in Merkel’s government
She took office in 2005
She served as family minister, labor minister and under Merkel’s government.
The Council proposed Belgian Prime Minister, Charles Michel as president of the European Council.
Josep Borrell Fontelles(Spain) as foreign policy chief.

About EU commission: 
Headquarters: Brussels, Belgium
Founded: 1 January 1958
It is an institution of the European Union.
It is responsible for proposing legislation, implementing decisions.
It is also upholding the EU treaties and managing the day-to-day business of the EC.

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *